Acorn Alfredo Pasta

lunchbox.com acorn alfredo pasta

I was never a fan of alfredo sauce. I think the gigantic stomach ache that always followed tainted any happy taste thoughts I might have had.

Then I learned about vegan alfredo sauces. They sounded a bit like non-dairy “cheese” to me: unappetizing. I rarely shy away from something new, though, so I gave it a whirl. Ohhhhh yeahhhhh.

I remember serving it to the family and wondering if it was just my wacky taste buds, doubting they would want seconds like I knew I would. Folks, they blew my doubts to smithereens. Even my blue-eyed man, the true test for any dairy-like recipe (since he’s from the dairy-centered land of Lancaster County), was hooked.

I still use that very first recipe I encountered. But that’s not what I’m sharing with you today (I will share it though!). Today I’m sharing a recipe from the great blog Healthy. Happy. Life. Now I have to say, it’s not as alfredo-y as my first love, but it has one heck of a flavor punch! So much of a flavor punch, in fact, that I again doubted my kids would care for it. But, again, they asked for seconds. Lesson: Don’t underestimate kids’ taste buds. Serve it with excitement and even–dare I say–confidence, and they just might love it like you do.

Health. Happy. Life.’s Acorn Alfredo Penne Pasta

With that said, next time I will still reduce the amount of Italian herbs. The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons. I’ll do 1- 1 1/2 tablespoons next time. The sauce makes enough for 2 bags of pasta even though the recipe calls for 1, which is good because I always make 2 bags of pasta. My family likes pasta, and I like cold leftover pasta over salad for lunch. Sometimes, though, there aren’t many leftovers even with 2 bags. As you can see from the picture, I used macaroni noodles instead of penne, and we always use Tinkyada brown rice pasta, because we have gluten intolerances in the family. So no Kamut penne here. I used plain ol’ regular garlic instead of roasted garlic (didn’t have any, and wasn’t prepared to add another step). I didn’t use any of the optional add-in’s.

I served the pasta alongside a salad drizzled with a balsamic reduction for the adults and steamed spinach for the kids. Steamed spinach is my go-to way of getting greens in the kids (besides kid-friendly green smoothies–another post).

