Pineapple-Date Green Smoothie

Pineapple-Date Green Smoothie

Since every Friday night in our house is Popcorn and Smoothie night (and games or a movie), we make a lot of smoothies. In Uganda we were experts at smoothies with tropical fruits…from our back yard. As in bananas from our banana trees, pineapples from our pineapple plants, papayas from our papaya trees, passion fruit from our passion fruit vines, mangoes from our mango trees…you get the picture. You can be jealous. It was just as amazing as it sounds.

When we moved back to the States, we had to resort to odd tasting bananas and frozen pineapple. But we’re learning. What we were not  able to do in Uganda was green smoothies. Shawn and I fell in love with green smoothies in December, but the kids were not so keen on them. In the past month I have tried green smoothie after green smoothie, but I never could concoct one that got unanimous approval. My children sometimes have very different taste buds.

Then yesterday happened. I got reeeaaaallly close. 2 out of 3 liked it! And the exciting part is that I knew the magic missing ingredient that could make it the winner–the ingredient that would quickly bring Miss A on board: pineapple. Though it’s frozen and definitely not from our back yard, it’s still her first love among fruits. She’s my kind of girl.

So today happened. I quickly blended it up, served it to the boys, got their approval, and put Miss A’s cup in the fridge for after school. She got it the moment she hopped in the car. I asked her how her day was and then excitedly handed her the smoothie, saying, “Miss A, this is it!” Sip. Smile.

Yes! Success.

Hummingbird Natural’s Pineapple-Date Green Smoothie (it’s rare, but once in a while I do come up with my own recipes!)

1 cup water

1/2 head romaine heart

4 little helper handfuls (or 2 mama-sized handfuls) of spinach–regardless of who is putting in the spinach, grab as much as you can!

5 pitted dates

1 small very ripe banana

1 cup frozen pineapple

1 tablespoon flaxseed

Little Guy Drinks Up

