Saucy Stir-fry

Moosewood Cookbook Vegetable Sautee

I love simple sautéed vegetables over brown rice. Sprinkle some sesame seeds on top, and I am content. My munchkins, however, need a sauce to convince them that this is indeed a satisfying meal (surprise, surprise). And if I give them some chopped nuts to sprinkle on top, they will even get excited for dinner!

This is one of my favorite meals to engage little helping hands, because inevitably they want to sample all the chopped raw vegetables. Oh if only they knew that was all part of the plan…getting them to sample… 🙂

I have always used the Fresh Vegetable Sauté “recipe” from the Moosewood Cookbook. I say “recipe” because it simply gives some suggested vegetables, how many cups of raw chopped vegetables to plan for per person, and which vegetables to add first, second, and third. Last night I used onion, broccoli, carrots, celery, red bell pepper, and sugar snap peas. It’s what I had on hand. The Moosewood Cookbook recommends 2 1/2 cups chopped raw vegetables per person, but I never measure. I just make a huge heaping pan full. I figure if we don’t eat it all, someone (me please!) will eat it for lunch the next day. We rarely have leftovers.

First, add onions to a hot, heavy skillet. Oil is not necessary, because the onions will sweat. When they are soft, add your harder vegetables (carrots, celery, cabbage, cauliflower, green beans, broccoli). Add a splash of water if necessary. When the hard vegetables are tender, add the softer vegetables (zucchini, peppers, mushrooms, bok choy). This is also the time to add the sauce!

Tamari-Ginger Sauce adapted from the Moosewood Cookbook

1/2 c. gluten-free tamari (or Braggs Amino Acids)

1/2 c. water

1 tsp. dried ginger

1 small clove crushed garlic

2 tsp. dark vinegar

2 tsp. honey

Whisk together, let stand for several minutes. Just before adding the sauce to the vegetables, add 2 T. corn starch to about 1/4 c. of the sauce and mix until smooth. Add this cornstarch mixture back into the sauce.

Pour the sauce onto the cooking vegetables, and stir until softer vegetables are tender and sauce has thickened.

Sprinkle with sesame seeds if you have them, and serve the vegetables over rice or quinoa (or any grain for that matter). Put a bowl of chopped nuts (I prefer cashews, but peanuts work well too) and sliced scallions on the table. My kids love sprinkling on their own nuts.

