Chocolate Peanut Butter Fruit Dip

IMG_1442

My mom was/is a health nut. I owe a lot of my lifelong interest in nutrition to my mother, and she is a major reason I have never dealt with any major health problems. I am very thankful for her commitment to feed me nutrient dense foods. One thing I have chosen to change from my upbringing, however, is that we never baked together. Sweets were something to fear. I don’t want my children growing up fearing anything, and I want them to grow up where baking and sweets are something we can enjoy together as a family on occasion–not as an emotional or craving “quick fix.”

We eat a plant-based diet the vast majority of the time, and you better believe I work my hardest to pack as many nutrients into my children in a day as I can! So I have no worries about my children eating a homemade oatmeal raisin cookie or serving of warm apple crisp every now and then. After all, they’re made with love, and love has got to be the healthiest ingredient on earth! 

With that intro, you’d think I was sharing a baking recipe today. I’m not. But I am sharing an easy treat kids enjoy helping prepare, which is the same goal I have for our baking! Today is about a silky smooth swirly chocolate dip that dances beautifully with my children’s favorite fruits (pineapple, banana, apple, clementine, kiwi…). It’s something we enjoy when all I want is some happy kid chatter. It’s also a great thing to serve if you have family friends over for an afternoon of play. When we make special treats, we always eat them in the afternoon after nap time rather than after dinner and just before bed. That way the kids have time to experience those negative sugar swings while running around rather than trying to fall asleep. After dinner dessert is always fruit. Cuties (clementines) are the current family favorite. Applesauce is a close second.

But back to that chocolate fruit dip! I have made it with peanut butter and almond butter. Both work. Angela’s adapted recipe over at Oh She Glows is my current recipe favorite!

Oh She Glows Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip

I have never added the chopped chocolate, because I love the smooth texture without it. Plus, that just might be more chocolate than little bodies could handle…

IMG_1438

