Curried Eggless Egg Salad Sandwiches

curried eggless salad

 

When I was in elementary school, my mom would pack me an egg salad sandwich (on whole wheat bread) for lunch almost every day. I did not care for egg salad sandwiches, at least after they had been sitting in my lunch box all morning. There was this girl who loved my egg salad sandwiches. So we’d swap my egg salad for her peanut butter and jelly (on white bread). We were both happy with the deal, so neither of us felt the need to tell our mothers.

Even as an adult egg salad was never my top choice for a sandwich, but it always sounded like a good idea. Well, yesterday I tried my first ever eggless egg salad sandwich, and I’m happy to say I prefer it much better than an eggy egg salad one! The kids gave it their unanimous approval, though one said he would choose a hummus sandwich over this if he had a choice. But he loves hummus.

I wanted a recipe that called for curry, because I love curry. There are many other no-curry recipes out there if you’re more of a traditionalist when it comes to your egg salad mixture–just google “eggless egg salad”! I have not tried any other recipes, so I have nothing to compare to this one; but I looked at several recipes, and this one was closest to what I was imagining. I’m pretty particular about which recipes I try out–I have a knack for accurately imagining what ingredients combined together will taste like.

Curried Eggless Egg Salad Sandwich

I didn’t have any bell peppers, so I just added a bit more carrot and celery. And I didn’t have any relish, so I finely chopped some dill pickles. I’m not a relish fan anyway.

Because of the vegan mayonaise, this recipe is not low fat. It’s a fabulous Easter weekend treat though! And still soooooooo much better for you than the egged up versions 🙂

z22zz22-2

 

Do you have a favorite eggless egg salad recipe? If you do, please link it in the comments! I’d love to try it.

 

